Home > Film & stuff > Tarantino’s Top 11 of 2011 & My Top 10 of 2010

Tarantino’s Top 11 of 2011 & My Top 10 of 2010

I was tempted to write a post about SOPA and the choice of many websites to go “dark” today (which I support… but I don’t have enough content or readers to go dark), but I changed my mind. Although I’m strongly in favor of preserving  a free and open Internet for as long as possible, I might never get off my soapbox once I climb up. Instead, I’d like to look at the great Quentin Tarantino’s Top 11 movies of 2011, as well as take a look back at my Top 10 movies of 2010. As I’ve mentioned in a previous post, the ten Best Picture Oscar nominees will be announced on January 24th, so I’ll post my own choices that day. But for now, let’s take a gander at QT’s faves (courtesy of The Quentin Tarantino Archives):

  • 1. Midnight In Paris
  • 2. Rise Of The Planet Of The Apes
  • 3. Moneyball
  • 4. The Skin I Live In
  • 5. X-Men: First Class
  • 6. Young Adult
  • 7. Attack The Block
  • 8. Red State
  • 9. Warrior
  • 10. The Artist / Our Idiot Brother (tie)
  • 11. The Three Musketeers

Quentin and I may have some overlap this year. I have no interest in even bothering with The Three Musketeers and I thought Red State was a big promise that just never quite delivered, but many of his choices really impressed me. The Skin I Live In is one of the most disturbing and beautiful films I’ve ever seen and Young Adult is simultaneously hilarious and deeply depressing (a perfect combo– like drinking and driving).  And I’m glad to see that he is not the kind of snob who’d dismiss a massive hit like Rise of the Planet of the Apes or a lighthearted comedy like Our Idiot Brother. Perhaps best of all, we obviously both have an affinity for all things Woody Allen. You have my approval that you crave so dearly, Mr. Tarantino!

Before the 24th hits and the suspense finally comes to an end, here’s my Top 10 list from 2010:

  • 10. Greenberg
  • 9. The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo (Sweden)
  • 8. The King’s Speech
  • 7. 44 Inch Chest
  • 6. Shutter Island
  • 5. Life During Wartime
  • 4. Let Me In
  • 3. Inception
  • 2. The Killer Inside Me
  • 1. Black Swan

If you haven’t already, go back and watch some of these. Greenberg is the best thing Ben Stiller has done… ever? That one should probably move up the list a bit– hindsight’s 20/20.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 259 other followers

