Home > Film & stuff > Nothing Overly Profound About the ‘RoboCop’ Reboot

Nothing Overly Profound About the ‘RoboCop’ Reboot

I tend to go back and forth when it comes to remakes of films I love. For instance, when I heard there would be a Straw Dogs remake, I was appalled. However, when I heard about the RoboCop reboot, I was surprisingly not reduced to screaming and vomiting out of pure disgust. I love the original RoboCop and I hate the idea of a shoddy, watered down remake. BUT I am excited by the idea of a good remake and a fresh perspective. Granted, I was more enthralled by the concept when the superb Darren Aronofsky was attached to direct (José Padilha is steering the boat now).

A mural of RoboCop

Screenwriter Nick Schenk is said to be taking on the task of writing a draft of the script. Gran Torino is his claim to fame, and although it’s not my favorite movie, I think the addition of Schenk is a pretty positive sign. Most interesting is the rumored casting of the titular character. The names that have been mentioned the loudest so far have been the following: Michael Fassbender, Chris Pine, and Russell Crowe. Interesting and vastly different actors to say the least.

If you’re one of the few who have been reading this blog consistently, you can probably guess who my choice is to play Alex “Robo” Murphy. Michael Fassbender has been blowing me away over these past couple of years. He clearly has range, starring in Hunger, Inglourious Basterds, A Dangerous Method, Shame, etc., and I think he’d bring some real humanity to the mechanical character. I don’t hate Chris Pine– Star Trek is really entertaining– but the kid’s too young and I just don’t find him intimidating enough. Going the other way, Russell Crowe is too old for RoboCop and if the film is a hit, I doubt he’d want to be doing sequels for years (or maybe he would– those would be some fat checks). Crowe is a tremendous actor and he certainly knows how to play a cop (e.g. L.A. Confidential), but a reboot of an action classic needs Fassbender’s not-yet-household name to come into the role as a relatively blank slate. The public may not recognize him much now, but they will if RoboCop rises to the challenge of living up to the original.

There are a ton of “ifs” that need to happen for this movie to be good. At this point, there isn’t even a guarantee that it will be made at all. The project has been bogged down in development hell for years, so who knows– maybe all of this casting banter and rewriting will all be a huge waste of time.

Hey, Padilha: “Your move, creep!”

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

