Home > Film & stuff > “RoboCop” Gets a Commercial

“RoboCop” Gets a Commercial

Some hints at what we can expect in the new RoboCop film have arrived!

In a savvy bit of marketing, the studio has put out the above teaser commercial for Omnicorp defense products. If you don’t recall, Omnicorp is the conglomerate behind the technology that spawned the ultimate defender of Old Detroit. And they’re also responsible for this little gem:

The ED-209 has a bit of trouble with stairs (via Business Insider)

The commercial shows off a robotic flying drone that promises to protect citizens, as well as the aforementioned ED-209. Most exciting, however, are the quick shots of RoboCop himself. We don’t get a full shot of the man/machine, so the suspense is building. I’m very interested to see what direction they take with the iconic look.

As I previously mentioned, Joel Kinnaman is strapping on the metal duds and hopefully will be toting a machine pistol in his thigh. Some other exciting news has come along with the likes of Gary Oldman, Samuel L. Jackson and Hugh Laurie all taking roles in the film. I don’t know much about Kinnaman, but he’s certainly going to be surrounded by some talented character actors. Part of me hopes that Jackson plays the stereotypical, ’80s-style screaming police chief who constantly complains about the “mayor up my ass,” or something of the like.

I’m a sucker for some good viral marketing when it applies to a film I care about. I was lukewarm about the RoboCop reboot, but this little fake advertisement has piqued my interest. Earlier in the summer I was thrilled over the excellent marketing for Prometheus and I could not have been more excited when I finally sat down in the theater to watch the film…

Ooph. That was a sad day. What a bland underachievement that movie is… here’s hoping they don’t riddle RoboCop full of plot holes the size of an ED-209 exit wound!

Categories: Film & stuff
  1. September 7, 2013 at 3:04 am

    Thanks on your marvelous posting! I genuinely enjoyed reading it, you
    can be a great author.I will be suee to bookmark your blog and definitely will come back very soon.
    I want to encourage you to continue your great posts, have a nice day!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

